One Year of Girl on Fire

May 16, 2017

One year ago today I started my blog.

Well, technically speaking, that’s not actually true. I first started Girl on Fire over on Blogger in October 2015 but after a few months of thought, I decided to switch to WordPress and actually get serious about writing and making a difference with my blog. And I hope that’s what I’ve done so far.

The naming of the blog was actually my favorite part. I did a lot of thinking on what I should call it, but nothing really seemed to sum up what my blog was all about while still sounding cool and like something I would personally want to read. Being the Hunger Games nerd that that I am, Girl on Fire stood out to me for a couple of reasons.  Besides being an obvious nod to The Hunger Games, Girl on Fire seemed to express the person I was and hope to be. I wanted to be ignited with passion for change. I wanted to make a difference and not be forgotten. I wanted to stand out as a bright light of hope in a relatively dark world. Most of all, I wanted to influence others. I wanted to light fires in the people around me and in the people who I don’t even know. I wanted to inspire them to make a difference and change the problems they face instead of just giving up. And a blog with a tacky name like Girl on Fire was the venue I’ve chosen to do that through.

Though most of the posts on here are slightly comedic and don’t really have that much to do with inspiring myself or others, there have been a select few that I have really been passionate about writing and that I really wanted to share with the people who want to read this blog. And even though sarcasm is what I’m good at, I am hoping that in the next year of writing this blog I can make more of the content that makes me proud and passionate about what I’ve chosen to do.

However, there’s no way you would even be reading this post on a strange blog named from The Hunger Games written by an ordinary 19 year old if it weren’t for a few special people. Fires don’t just spontaneously ignite, and that’s what this post is really about. I have been blessed enough to have a support system of people around me who believe in me and encourage me to do things I never would’ve thought I had a chance to do. So this post is a thank you letter to them; the people who may not know it, but who are the real sparks behind Girl on Fire. I draw my inspiration from my faith, my family, and my closest friends and I wouldn’t have kept writing if it weren’t for them. Whether it be by teaching me something, saying something that inspired a post, or just reading what I put out there and commenting every time (looking at you, Bella ;), these people are the reasons I started it in the first place and stayed with it for a year.

Thank you so much for believing that I had something to say that was worth reading and for inspiring me to be a better person and learn throughout my own journey. You all make the real difference and I’m super thankful to know each of you!

Thanks for such a great year and I’m looking forward to seeing how God chooses to use this blog in the following year!

Bethany

Other posts that I love:

Life is your Choice

19 Lessons I’ve learned in 19 Years

 

4 thoughts on “One Year of Girl on Fire

  1. Congratulations on your blog-versary, bestie!! I’m SO proud of you! This blog has inspired and challenged me and those posts you shared at the bottom I love! They were some of my favorites 🙂
    Keep writing! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

