Third Shift Thoughts

Ok, first let’s start this out with a huge apology for not posting anything for two months. TWO MONTHS!!!! I feel awful for letting it be that long before posting…

I would make an excuse about how my job has been keeping me busy a lot of the time and how my impending move has been pushing back all my inspiration, but the reality of it is that my blog has just had to take a backseat to all the other things I’ve given my time to and with all that occupies my mind on a daily basis, I haven’t thought of any really good content to post. That being said, I’m now breaking the two month streak of being absent and I am hoping to post a little more often, or once a month at the very least.

Now that the apology is out of the way, the post I have for you today is all about the randomness my mind comes up with while I’m at work. I work third shift (from 10pm to 7am) and we don’t really have a ton of stuff to do because I’m a cashier. When there’s no customers, my job is to make sure everything is in order in my isle, a task that takes maybe all of five minutes, and the rest of the time is usually spent waiting for breaks and lunch or watching the minutes tick away for an eternity. So in that time of waiting, my mind tends to wander across a broad span of topics, from book ideas and stories, to odd questions and random thoughts. I’ve compiled a list of these random thoughts and interesting nonsensical questions in the hopes that you may be able to relate and ponder them with me, or at the very least laugh at my odd mind. Also, for the sake of the funny aspect, I have not Googled any of these questions to find out actual answers because then I wouldn’t have a blog post, and who has time for that anyway…

 

“What exactly is a hedgehog? Are they a rodent?”

“If a store always has their prices marked down, is it really a sale? Or have the markdowns just become the actual prices?”

“There are books that teach you how to read. But if you can’t read, how is the book going to teach you?”

“Who came up with the idea of hugging (or kissing, for that matter) and how did it become an acceptable form of showing affection?”

“Does the potato have so many uses just because people haven’t stopped experimenting with how to cook it?”

“Why does fire give off light?”

“Are mice actually ‘as quiet as mice?’ And if they were actually that quiet, how would you know they were in the walls of your house? I think the phrase should be changed to, ‘as quiet as a spider’ because those little creeps can sneak right up on you and climb all over you without you knowing it…”

“Is it bad to eat expired candy?”

“Are romance books actually that popular of a genre if there are so many at thrift stores all the time?”

“How many working VHS players are still out there?”

“Who was the person who looked at stuff like snails and fish eggs and said, “yeah, I bet I could eat that.” …and then did?”

“Are ladybugs actually all ladies? And if not, do the male ladybugs ever get offended that people assume they’re women?”

 

That’s all I have for the moment, but trust me when I say that there will most likely be a part two, because my mind always comes up with all kinds of random things…

Let me know in the comments what kind of random things you think about when you have nothing to do! And again, so sorry for abandoning this blog for so long 🙂

One thought on “Third Shift Thoughts

Leave a Reply

