Blogmas Day 1: Welcome!

Woohoo!!! The Holiday’s are finally here! This is the time that I look forward to all year! Christmas, New Year’s, and all the holidays in between.

Because I love this season of life so much, I thought it would me so much fun to do a series of 12 holiday themes posts titled “The 12 Days of Blogmas!” which I will be posting every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday leading up to Christmas. So without further ado, let’s get started!

blogmas

The day after Thanksgiving is known to most as Black Friday. However, to my family it’s called “Tree Trimming day.” This is the day where we get out the tree and shake the dust off, unpack the lights and staple them around the ceiling, adorn the mantle with the nutcracker collection, and play Christmas music while the whole family takes part in getting ready for the festive season. It is probably one of my favorite days out of the whole year ๐Ÿ™‚

Here are some ideas for your own tree trimming day! It doesn’t matter if you decide to decorate the day after Thanksgiving or if you choose to wait until December. My family usually gets too excited and so we do it as soon as possible ๐Ÿ™‚ย  Whether you live by yourself or with your family, you can still make it a special day!

First, you’ll need your decorations. However you chose to decorate is up to you; you may cover the ceiling with lights, or maybe you just stick with a simple tree and wreath. But the decorating is important (it’s in the name for the day itself so of course it’s important:)…Obviously

Next, you must set the mood. I would suggest a nice fire in the fireplace (not to big though as you’ll get overheated with all the moving around and decorating you’re most likely doing) and some soft instrumental Christmas music. Nothing too loud, you just want to set the mood, not ruin conversations. Normally this is the time where, as we unpack the ornaments for the tree, Mom and Dad will tell the stories behind each one or where they got them. We wouldn’t want music to hinder that. Also, if you don’t have a fireplace or don’t fancy building a fire, you can find a plethora of video recordings of fires with soft music in the background on YouTube.

Lastly, after everything is decorated sufficiently, you might find it enjoyable to share a few snacks while watching a Christmas themed movie. I wouldn’t suggest many snacks though as Thanksgiving was just the previous day, but some popcorn or cheese and crackers goes nicely. Or you could have a Charlie Brown Thanksgivingย  buffet with popcorn, buttered toast, jelly beans (if you like them. I don’t fancy them myself…) and pretzel sticks. As for the Christmas movie, I have several favorite suggestions but the one I would most highly recommend would have to be A Child’s Christmas In Wales. It’s a beautiful movie based off the poem by Dylan Thomas. Is this one of the most quoted movies by my family? Why yes…yes it is ๐Ÿ™‚ With such gems as these:

“You mean the postman went “rat a tat tat” and the door rang?”

“Call the firemen…and the police as well…and Ernie Jenkens (he likes fires!)”

“Then I pushed him down then he pushed me down and then we had tea.”

“Mr. Daniel looks like a spaniel.”

And our favorite: “Would you like anything to read?”

I’ll type the whole thing out in a later post, but I cannot recommend this movie highly enough.

So once again, welcome to Blogmas and I hope you will enjoy what’s in store in the next 11 days that I’ll post ๐Ÿ™‚ If you have any suggestions of posts you would like to see from me, feel free to leave your ideas in the comments below. Merry Christmas!

6 thoughts on “Blogmas Day 1: Welcome!

Leave a Reply

