Five Ways To Find Inspiration

As someone who loves any kind of creativity, inspiration is often hard for me to find. I tell myself that I’m going to sit down and write on a book or my magazine or some blog posts, but when the time comes and I’m faced with an empty page full of possibilities, all I draw is blanks. That is mostly why I haven’t sent out my magazine yet or finished a book and why I’m always late writing blog posts. But I have come up with a solution today! I’ve decided to compile Five Ways To Find Inspiration when you can’t!

Also, quick shout out to Hope Ann who provides me a lot of my inspiration from her blog and Pinterest boards. You’re awesome! πŸ™‚

So, let’s get started!

Five Ways toFind Inspiration

Tip 1: Hit Pinterest.

Pinterest is a treasure chest of inspiration. Whether you want to decorate your room, bake something new, change up your makeup, find beautiful pictures of dragons, or discover story prompts to get you writing, Pinterest has it all. Have you been scrolling through your home feed and still can’t find anything good and you don’t know what to search? Never fear! That’s what you follow people for! I like to look through the boards of the people I’m following and see what they’ve pinned. Often, that’s all it takes for me to discover a new image that fits one of my books perfectly or something to base a new story off of.

 

Tip 2: YouTube

YouTube is great because you can literally find anything there. I love watching videos from the YouTuber KickThePj. His videos are really creative and often pretty funny. In fact, he did a video on this same topic which you can find here. Some other of my favorite channels are: Blimey Cow, Say Goodnight Kevin, Katie Gregoire, Studio C, and Collins Key.

(Also, can you tell that I just learned how to insert links? XD)

 

Tip 3: Listen to (or play) music.

Music is one of my favorite ways to find inspiration because through songs you can imagine emotions and whole stories to go along with it. I find it best to listen to music without words if you want to focus on something else that you’re doing, but sometimes regular music is what you need. I’ve compiled a playlist of music for the specific task of writing while listening to it which you can find (hopefully) here.

Also it’s helpful, if you play an instrument, to just sit down and lose yourself in playing. Sometimes it’s nice for me to zone out for about 30 minutes while playing different songs from memory.

 

Tip 4: Listen to conversations an people-watch.

By no means am I saying be creepy of make people feel uncomfortable. Please try you’re best to be discrete. The point of listening to conversations is to listen for a line that inspires you. Or maybe by watching how someone interacts with another person will help you write such a scene better. If you carry a notebook (which you should if you call yourself any kind of writer) it’s a fun exercise to pick someone you see and try and describe them in as much detail as you can. How does their voice sound? What do you think their profession is? What are theyΒ  doing and what might that say about their character? Who knows, maybe by listening to people and watching them, you may write the next Lord of the Rings.

 

Tip 5: Get out of your room.

It’s easy to sit for hours staring at the ceiling, thinking about how bored and uninspired you are. But that isn’t really helpful. Even if it means just wandering around the house for a little while, get up and do something. Walk around the block, ride a bike, take a trip to the library, whatever it takes. If you get up and move it helps generate ideas better and you’ll be able to sit down and work on your project with more clarity when you’re done. Also, I’ve found that it helps me immensely if I relocate to a different spot to be creative. If I’m trying to type on my computer in my room but can’t find the words, I’ll go out to the dining room table. Or the camper table. Changing your scenery is very helpful.

 

There you go! Five ways to help you get inspired! If you have something that you use to find inspiration, I would love to hear about it! As you know, I can use all the inspiration I can get πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Five Ways To Find Inspiration

  1. Yay, this was fun to read through! πŸ˜€ Great job, Bethy! I mostly draw my inspiration from music too, namely Skillet. πŸ˜‰ Or from my Bible or reading other books by authors that inspire me. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your thoughts are similar to my situation. Plan was to write on the Discovery word prompt of the Photo Challenge. I got distracted and clicked away to several random locations. It is time to focus. Keep writing, you have the gift.

    Like

Leave a Reply

